Saturday, 11 June 2011

Gloria Gaynor

Gloria Gaynor (born Gloria Fowles, September 7, 1949, Newark, New Jersey) is an American singer, best-known for the disco era hits; "I Will Survive" (Hot 100 number 1, 1979), "Never Can Say Goodbye" (Hot 100 number 9, 1974), "Let Me Know (I Have a Right)" (Hot 100 number 42, 1980) and "I Am What I Am" (R&B number 82, 1983).

Gaynor was a singer with the Soul Satisfiers, a jazz/pop band, in the 1960s. Her first solo single was "She'll Be Sorry/Let Me Go Baby" (1965).

Her first real success came in 1975 with the release of her album Never Can Say Goodbye, which established her as a disco artist. The first side of this album consisted of three disco songs ("Honey Bee", "Never Can Say Goodbye" and "Reach Out, I'll Be There"), with no breaks in between the songs. This 19-minute dance marathon proved to be enormously popular, especially at dance clubs. All three songs were released as singles via radio edits, and all of them became hits. The album was instrumental in introducing disco music to the public, "Never Can Say Goodbye" becoming the first song to top Billboard magazine's dance chart. Capitalizing on the success of her first album, Gloria Gaynor quickly released her second album, Experience Gloria Gaynor, later that same year. While this album was also successful, it was not quite as popular as her previous album in the mainstream.

Some of her lesser-known singles, due to lack of recurrent airplay — including "Honey Bee" (1974), "Casanova Brown" (1975), and "Let's Make A Deal" (1976) — became hits in the clubs and reached the Top 5 on Billboard's disco charts. After her 1976 album, I've Got You, Gaynor shifted from her hit production team, to work with other productions. While it seemed like a good move, her subsequent producers did not seem to match Gaynor's vocal approach and style as well. 


Gloria Gaynor - I will Survive

01. If you want it do it yourself
02. I'll be there
03. Mighty high
04. Never can say goodbye
05. Oh happy day
06. Reach out i will be there
07. Remember
08. Strive
09. Try a little tenderness
10. Wonderful day
11. You're the first,the last,my everthing



Gloria Gaynor - White Collection  

CD 1
01. Never Can Say Goodbye
02. I Will Survive
03. Reach Out I’ll Be There
04. Stop In The Name Of Love
05. I Am What I Am
06. The Heat Is On
07. The Power Of Love
08. What A Wonderful World

09. Feel So Real
10. Top Shelf
11. Can’t Take My Eyes Off You
12. (If You Want) Do It Yourself
13. Mama San
14. The Reason For The Season

CD 2
01. Careless Whisper

02. Feelings
03. Broken Wings
04. Every Breath You Take
05. The Eye Of The Tiger
06. I Want To Know What Love Is
07. Suddenly
08. He’s Out Of My Life
09. Everybody Wants To Rule The World
10. Everytime You Go Away
11. Don’t You Dare Call It Love

12. How High The Moon
13. Greatest Hits Medley



Gloria Gaynor - The Anthology

CD 1
01. I Will Survive
02. Honeybee
03. Never Can Say Goodbye
04. Reach Out (I'll Be There)
05. Anybody Wanna Party? - (12" Remix, 12" remix)
06. Most of All
07. This Love Affair
08. You're All I Need to Get By
09. Let's Make a Deal
10. I've Got You Under My Skin
11. Be Mine

CD 2
01. Casanova Brown
02. (If You Want It) Do It Yourself
03. How High the Moon
04. Real Good People
05. Walk on By
06. What'll I Do
07. I Love You 'Cause
08. When You Get Around to Do It
09. Let Me Know (I Have a Right)
10. Tell Me How
11. I'm Still Yours
12. Don't Read Me Wrong
13. I Kinda Like Me
14. I Will Survive - (Remix, remix)



No comments:

Post a comment