Monday, 11 July 2011

George Van Eps

George Van Eps (7 August 1913 – 29 November 1998) (often called "the Father of the Seven String Guitar") was an American swing and Mainstream jazz guitarist noted both for his recordings as a leader, and for his work as a session musician. He was also the author of instructional books that explored his approach to guitar-based harmony. He was well known as a pioneer of the seven-string guitar, which allowed him to incorporate sophisticated bass lines into his improvisation. He was a strong influence on later seven-string players such as Howard Alden (with whom he recorded four CDs for Concord Records in the early 1990s), Bucky Pizzarelli, and John Pizzarelli (Bucky's son). He is the son of the legendary classic banjo player Fred Van Eps.

George Van Eps - Mellow Guitar (1956)

01. I'll Remember April
02. What Is This Thing Called Love?
03. Let's Do It
04. Yesterdays
05. They Can't Take That Away From Me
06. 'S Wonderful
07. Have You Met Miss Jones?
08. Tango El Bongo
09. Dancing On The Ceiling
10. Lost Canyon
11. The Boy Next Door
12. I Never Knew

George Van Eps (guitar);
David Sterkin, Felix Latkin, Eleanor Latkin, Harry Bluestone (strings);
Fred Stultz, Henry Beau, Ted Nash, Babe Russin (woodwinds);
Joe Howard (trombone);
Frank Flynn (vibraphone);
Paul Weston (drums, bongos, background vocals);
Jack Sperling, Nick Fatool (snare drum);
Alvin Stoller (bongos).

Recording information: 08/01/1956-08/15/1956.

The guitarist George Van Eps, who was a sometime bandmate of the legendary Eddie Lang and for many years a stalwart of the Los Angeles session scene, is heard here in a varied set of solo improvisations, orchestral arrangements, and small group recordings that, in addition to being vintage 1950s bachelor pad music, is a comprehensive demonstration both of his versatility and considerable fretboard skills.

Reissue of the renowned jazz guitarist's 1956 debut album. Features all 12 tunes from the original Columbia Records issue, plus the original cover art. 1999 release.

Recorded in Hollywood, California in August 1956. Originally released on Columbia (929). Includes liner notes by Jim Fisch.

George Van Eps & Howard Alden : 7 Strings Jazz Guitars (1992)

01. Night and Day     
02. Ja-Da    
03. Just Friends    
04. My Romance    
05. Salute to Basie    
06. I Surrender, Dear    
07. Stella by Starlight    
08. Skylark Hoagy
09. Lullaby of Birdland    
10. Last Night When We Were Young    
11. I May Be Wrong (But I Think You're Wonderful)   


No comments:

Post a comment