Monday, 30 May 2011

Gladys Knight

Gladys Maria Knight (born May 28, 1944), known as the "Empress of Soul", is an American R&B/soul singer-songwriter, actress, businesswoman, humanitarian, and author. She is best known for the hits she recorded during the 1960s and 1970s, for both the Motown and Buddah Records labels, with her group Gladys Knight & the Pips, the most famous incarnation of which also included her brother Merald "Bubba" Knight and her cousins Edward Patten and William Guest.

Knight was born in Atlanta, Georgia, the daughter of Sarah Elizabeth (née Woods) and Merald Woodlow Knight, Sr., a postal worker. She first achieved minor fame by winning Ted Mack's Original Amateur Hour TV show contest at the age of 7 in 1952. The following year, she, her brother Merald, sister Brenda, and cousins William and Elenor Guest formed a musical group called The Pips (named after another cousin, James "Pip" Woods). By the end of the decade, the act had begun to tour, and had replaced Brenda Knight and Eleanor Guest with Gladys Knight's cousin Edward Patten and friend Langston George.

Gladys Knight & the Pips joined the Motown roster in 1966, and, although regarded as a second-string act, scored several hit singles, including "I Heard It Through the Grapevine", (recorded later by Marvin Gaye), "Friendship Train" (1969), "If I Were Your Woman" (1970), "I Don't Want To Do Wrong" (1971), the Grammy Award winning "Neither One of Us (Wants to Be the First to Say Goodbye)" (1972), and "Daddy Could Swear (I Declare)" (1973). In their early Motown career Gladys Knight and the Pips toured as the opening act for Diana Ross and The Supremes. Gladys Knight stated in her memoirs that Miss Ross kicked her off the tour because the audience's reception to Knight's soulful performance overshadowed her. Berry Gordy later told Gladys that she was giving his act a hard time.

Knight and the Pips continued to have hits until the late 1970s, when they were forced to record separately due to legal issues, resulting in Knight's first solo LP recordings--Miss Gladys Knight (1978) on Buddah and Gladys Knight (1979) on Columbia Records.

Gladys Knight - Just for You


01. Next Time
02. I Don't Want To Know
03. I'll Fall In Love If You Hang Around
04. Our Love
05. Home Alone
06. Choice Of Colors
07. Guilty
08. Somehow He Loves Me
09. End Of The Road Medley (Live)



Gladys Knight - The Greatest Hits



01. baby dont change your mind
02. best thing that ever happened to me
03. come back & finish what youve started
04.home is where the heart is
05. i feel a son (in my heart)
06. its a better than good time
07. ive got to use my imagination
08. love finds its own way
09. make yours a happy home
10. midnight train to georgia
11. money
12. nobody but you
13. on and on
14. part time love
15. so sad the song
16. the one & only
17. try to remember - the way we were
18. where peaceful waters flow


No comments:

Post a comment