Friday, 8 July 2011

Jeanie Bryson

Jeanie Bryson (born March 10, 1958 in New York City) is an American singer with a combination of jazz, pop and Latin music. The singer's repertoire is based on durable jazz and pop standards, firmly rooted in The Great American Songbook and the legacies of Peggy Lee and Dinah Washington.

Bryson is the daughter of songwriter Connie Bryson and Dizzy Gillespie. Her husband was guitarist Coleman Mellett, who died in the February 2009 crash of Continental Airlines Flight 3407. The couple had resided in East Brunswick Township, New Jersey.

While at school with jazz pianist Kenny Barron, Rutgers University, she began to be increasingly influenced by jazz. Bryson has performed throughout North and South America, Europe, Israel and Japan and has received international critical acclaim. In addition to her own recordings on Telarc, Ms. Bryson has recorded with Etta Jones, Larry Coryell, Grover Washington, Jr., Terence Blanchard, and Kenny Burrell, just to name a few.

In 1994, Terence Blanchard's recorded In My Solitude: The Billie Holiday Songbook, for Columbia, with vocalist Jeanie Bryson. Bryson sings "Nice Work If You Can Get It", "What A Little Moonlight Can Do", "Fine And Mellow", and "Strange Fruit", a smooth, relaxed CD unhurried at its best. Jeanie Bryson 2001 CD Deja Blue gently cradles you with her velvet voice. Bryson is sweet, laid-back, and melodic. Deja Blue is a sultry ballad with an excellent solo by Steve Nelson on vibes.

Lately, fans and critics alike eagerly await Jeanie's newest project, The Dizzy Gillespie Songbook, a loving and fitting tribute that celebrates her father's life, his music, and above all, his legacy.

Some Cats Know - Jeanie Bryson Sings The Songs Of Peggy Lee (1996)

01  -  I Don't Know Enough About You (Barbour, Lee)  -  4:29
02 - 'Deed I Do (Hirsch, Rose)  -  2:58
03 - Some Cats Know (Leiber, Stoller)  -  5:54
04 - Why Don't You Do Right? (McCoy)  -  3:40
05 - You're My Thrill (Clare, Gorney)  -  4:55
06 - Fever (Cooley, Davenport)  -  3:39
07 - I'm in Love Again (Coleman, Lee, Schluger)  -  3:59
08 - Close Your Eyes (Petkere)  -  2:58
09 - Lover (Hart, Rodgers)  -  3:13
10 - You Let My Love Get Cold (Robinson)  -  5:17
11 - I'm Gonna Go Fishin' (Ellington, Lee)  -  3:06
12 - You're Blas? (Hamilton, Sievier)  -  4:40
13 - That Sugar Baby O' Mine (Mitchell, Pinkard, Pinkard)  -  3:46
14 - Where in the World Are You? (Bryson)  -  5:20

Jeanie Bryson:  Vocals
John Chiodini : Guitar
Terry Trotter: Piano
Red Holloway: Tenor Sax
Paquito D'Rivera: Clarinet
Ronnie Buttacavoli: Trumpet
Jim Hughart (bass);
Harold Jones (drums);
Mayra Casales (percussion).

This is a very logical tribute. Jeanie Bryson has a small but coolly sensual voice, just as Peggy Lee did during her prime. Bryson performs three songs on which Lee wrote the lyrics (including "I Don't Know Enough About You" and "I'm Gonna Go Fishin'"), ten other songs that have been associated with Lee (such as "Some Cats Know," "Why Don't You Do Right" and the inevitable "Fever"), and a number ("Where in the World Are You") penned by Jeanie's mother Connie Bryson. The singer is supported by an intriguing group that includes a four - piece rhythm section with guitarist John Chiodini and pianist Terry Trotter, tenor saxophonist Red Holloway, Paquito D'Rivera (sticking to clarinet), and trumpeter Ronnie Buttacavoli. This is one of Jeanie Bryson's best efforts and should please both her fans and those of Peggy Lee.


No comments:

Post a comment