Friday, 1 July 2011

Dusty Springfield

Mary Isobel Catherine Bernadette O'Brien (16 April 1939 – 2 March 1999), known professionally as Dusty Springfield and dubbed The White Queen of Soul was a British pop singer whose career extended from the late 1950s to the 1990s. With her distinctive sensual sound, she was an important white soul singer, and at her peak was one of the most successful British female performers, with 18 singles in the Billboard Hot 100 from 1964 to 1970. She is a member of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and the U.K. Music Hall of Fame. International polls have named Springfield among the best female rock artists of all time.

Born in North London to an Irish Catholic family that enjoyed music, Springfield learned to sing at home. She joined her first professional group, The Lana Sisters, in 1958, then formed the pop-folk vocal trio The Springfields in 1960 with her brother Dion.

Her solo career began in 1963 with the upbeat pop hit, "I Only Want To Be With You" (1963). Among the hits that followed were "Wishin' and Hopin'" (1964), "I Just Don't Know What to Do with Myself" (1964), "You Don't Have to Say You Love Me" (1966), and "Son of a Preacher Man" (1968). A fan of American pop music, she was the first public figure to bring little-known soul singers to a wider British audience, when she created and hosted the first British performances of the top-selling Motown artists in 1965. By 1966, she was the best selling female singer in the world, and topped a number of popularity polls, including Melody Maker's Best International Vocalist. She was the first British singer to top the New Musical Express readers' poll for Female Singer. Her image, supported by a peroxide blonde beehive hairstyle, evening gowns, and heavy make-up, made her an icon of the Swinging Sixties.

Dusty Springfield - Gold - Greatest Hits

01. Silver Threads And Golden Needles  2:12
02. I Only Want To Be With You  2:35
03. Stay Awhile 1:56
04. Wishin' And Hopin' 2:53
05. I Just Don't Know What To Do With Myself 3:01
06. All Cried Out 3:01
07. Losing You 2:59
08. Some Of Your Lovin' 2:59
09. Oh No! Not My Baby 2:44
10. Little By Little 2:17
11. You Don't Have To Say You Love Me 2:47
12. Going Back 3:29
13. All I See Is You 3:20
14. I'll Try Anything (To Get You)


01. The Look Of Love 3:33
02. Give Me Time 3:05
03. What's It Gonna Be 2:11
04. I Close My Eyes And Count To Ten 3:08
05. Son Of A Preacher Man 2:25
06. Don't Forget About Me 2:49
07. Breakfast In Bed 2:53
08. The Windmills Of Your Mind 3:48
09. Am I The Same Girl 2:59
10. A Brand New Me 2:24
11. Who Gets Your Love 3:24
12. Tupelo Honey 3:59
13. Losing You (Just A Memory) 2:48
14. What Have I Done To Deserve This 


Dusty Springfield - A Girl Called Dusty

01. Mama Said
02. You Don't Own Me
03. Do Rei Mi
04. When The Lovelight Starts Shining Thru His Eyes
05. My Colouring Book
06. Mockingbird
07. Twenty-Four Hour From Tulsa
08. Nothing
09. Anyone Who Had A Heart
10. Will You Love Me Tomorrow
11. Wishin' And Hopin'
12. Don't You Know
13. I Only Want To Be With You (Alternate Mix)
14. He's Got Something
15. Every Day I Have To Cry
16. Can I Get A Witness
17. All Cried Out
18. I Wish I'd Never Loved You
19. Once Upon A Time
20. Summer Is Over


1 comment:

  1. Dust SpringField - A Girl Called Dusty Vinyl records are available at 10% Discount at simplyvinyl [dot] com.

    To receive discount code coupon 'simply' LIKE

    facebook [dot] com/simplyvinyl

    or Follow

    twitter [dot] com/simplyvinyl

    Just put in cart, enter your code, and get extra value on your classic album purchase.

    simplyvinyl [dot] com Quality sounds like that!