Saturday, 2 July 2011

Ry Cooder

Ryland "Ry" Peter Cooder (born 15 March 1947) is a US guitarist, singer and composer.
Well known for his slide guitar work, his interest in blues-rock, roots music from his native North America, and, more recently, for his collaborations with traditional musicians from many countries.

Although influenced early on by blues, he became a pioneer in resurrecting the traditions of "World Music," a concept that was entirely new at the time. He devoted himself to Country and Folk music, Calypso, Hawaiian music, Gospel, Salsa, Jazz, Ragtime and Vaudeville. He has collaborated with many important musicians, including The Rolling Stones, Van Morrison, Neil Young & Crazy Horse, Earl Hines, Little Feat, Captain Beefheart, The Chieftains, John Lee Hooker, Pops, Mavis Staples, Gabby Pahinui, Ibrahim Ferrer (Buena Vista Social Club), Freddy Fender and Eric Clapton. He formed the Little Village supergroup with Nick Lowe, John Hiatt, and Jim Keltner.

Cooder was ranked 8th on Rolling Stone magazine's list of "The 100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time." A 2010 ranking by Gibson placed him at #32.

Ry Cooder has composed soundtracks for more than twenty films, among them Wim Wenders' "Paris, Texas", and "The End of Violence."

Chovez Ravine - Ry Cooder (2005)


01. Poor Man’s Shangri-La
02. Onda Callejera
03. Don’t Call Me Red
04. Corrido de Boxeo
05. Muy Fif?
06. Los Chucos Suaves
07. Chinito Chinito
08. 3 Cool Cats
09. El U.F.O. Cay?
10. It’s Just Work for Me
11. In My Town
12. Ejercito Militar
13. Barrio Viejo
14. 3rd Base, Dodger Stadium
15. Soy Luz y Sombra


Get Rhythm - Ry Cooder

01 - Get Rhythm (3:17)
02 - Low - Commotion (3:09)
03 - Going Back to Okinawa (4:42)
04 - 13 Question Method (3:39)
05 - Women Will Rule the World (5:51)
06 - All Shook Up (3:30)
07 - I Can Tell by the Way You Smell (4:33)
08 - Across the Borderline (6:17)
09 - Let's Have a Ball (5:50)


Into The Purple Valley - Ry Cooder (1972)

01. How can you keep moving (unless you migrate too) (2:26)
02. Billy the kid (3:49)
03. Money honey (3:29)
04. Far in Trinidad (3:03)
05. Teardrops will fall (3:08)
06. Denomination blues (3:59)
07. On a Monday (2:58)
08. Hey porter (4:42)
09. Great dream from heaven (1:56)
10. Taxes on the farmer feed us all (3:56)
11. Vigilante man (4:17)


No comments:

Post a comment