Sunday, 3 July 2011

Queen Latifah

Dana Elaine Owens (born March 18, 1970), better known by her stage name Queen Latifah, is an American singer, rapper and actress. Queen Latifah's work in music, film and television has earned her a Golden Globe award, two Screen Actors Guild Awards, two Image Awards, a Grammy Award, six additional Grammy nominations, an Emmy Award nomination and an Academy Award nomination.

She was born and raised in East Orange, New Jersey, the daughter of Rita (née Bray), a schoolteacher who worked at Irvington High School, and Lancelot Owens, Sr., a police officer. Her parents divorced when Latifah was ten. Latifah was raised in the Baptist church and attended Catholic school in Newark, New Jersey. Her stage name, Latifah, meaning "delicate" and "very kind" in Arabic, was given to her by her cousin when she was eight. Always a tall girl, the 5'10" Latifah was a power forward on her high school basketball team. She performed the number "Home" from the musical The Wiz in a high school play.

She started beatboxing for the rap group Ladies Fresh. Latifah was one of the members of the original version of the Flavor Unit, which, at that time, was a crew of MCs grouped around producer DJ Mark the 45 King. Mark James aka "DJ Mark the 45 King" made a demo recording of Queen Latifah's rap Princess of the Posse. He gave the recording to the host of Yo! MTV Raps Fab 5 Freddy. The song got the attention of Tommy Boy Music employee Dante Ross, who signed Latifah and in 1988 issued her first single, "Wrath of My Madness".

From 1993–1998, Latifah had a starring role on Living Single, a Fox sitcom, which gained high ratings among black audiences; she also wrote and performed its theme music. Her mother Rita played her mother on-screen.[16] She began her film career in supporting roles in the 1991 and 1992 films House Party 2, Juice and Jungle Fever. She had her own talk show, The Queen Latifah Show, from 1999 to 2001. She also had recurring roles during the second season (1991–1992) of the NBC hit The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air. She made a guest role as herself on Hangin' with Mr. Cooper in 1993. Latifah appeared in the 1996 box-office hit, Set It Off and subsequently had a supporting role in the Holly Hunter film Living Out Loud (1998). She played the role of Thelma in the 1999 movie The Bone Collector, alongside Denzel Washington and Angelina Jolie.

Persona - Queen Latifah

01. The Light  5:04
02. Fast Car  4:18
03. Cue The Rain  6:02
04. My Couch  6:03
05. Take Me With You (Feat. Marsha Ambrosius)  3:45
06. With You  4:34
07. Hard To Love Ya (Feat. Busta Rhymes, Shawn Stockman & Dre) 4:14
08. What's The Plan  3:10
09. Long Ass Week  4:10
10. Runnin  4:03
11. People (Feat. Mary J. Blige)  3:54
12. If He Wanna (Feat. Serani)  4:49
13. Over The Mountain  5:12
14. The World  5:31


The Dana Owens Album -
Queen Latifah 

01. Baby Get Lost
02. I Put A Spell On You
03. Simply Beautiful
04. The Same Love That Made Me Laugh Queen Latifah
05. Moody's Mood for Love
06. Close Your Eyes
07. California Dreamin'
08. Hard Times
09. Mercy, Mercy, Mercy
10. Hello Stranger
11. If I Had You
12. Lush Life 


Traveling Light -
Queen Latifah 

01. Poetry Man
02. Georgia Rose
03. Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars
04. Don't Cry Baby
05. I Love Being Here with You
06. I'm Gonna Live Till I Die
07. Trav'lin' Light
08. I Want a Little Sugar in My Bowl
09. I'm Not in Love
10. What Love Has Joined Together
11. How Long (Betcha' Got a Chick on the Side)
12. Gone Away
13. I Know Where I've Been [From Hairspray] 



All Hail The Queen - Queen Latifah  (1989)


01. Dance for Me
02. Mama Gave Birth to the Soul Children
03. Come into My House
04. Latifah’s Law
05. Wrath of My Madness
06. The Pros
07. Ladies First
08. A King and Queen Creation
09. Queen of Royal Badness
10. Evil That Men Do
11. Princess of the Posse
12. Inside Out
13. Dance for Me [Ultimatum Remix]
14. Wrath of My Madness [Soulshock Remix]
15. Princess of the Posse [DJ Mark the 45 King Remix]

No comments:

Post a comment